

Dear Chief Executive,

## Re: Back Britain's farmers with a 'Buy British' button

We the undersigned, call on supermarkets across the United Kingdom to highlight the very best of British produce by incorporating a 'Buy British' section on online stores.

Our ask is simple, to create a tab that collates produce from farmers across Great Britain and Northern Ireland. By a click of the mouse, many supermarkets can achieve this.

We know supermarkets are keen to support British farmers. This small change on your online stores would make a big difference in demonstrating this commitment.

Many shops in the UK already sell and label British produce, from fruit and vegetables to grains, dairy items, potatoes, fish and meat. All we're asking is that on your online stores, these items are collated so that customers who want to eat British produce and support our nation's farmers can do so quickly and easily.

We hear time and time again from farmers themselves that the best way to support them is to buy British produce. By signposting shoppers, you give consumers who want to support our nation's farmers even greater choice.

British farmers work hard all year round to ensure our nation's food security, are crucial in supporting strong local economies and have been instrumental in preserving and protecting our environment. Eating food produced in the UK also drastically cuts down on the carbon produced when importing goods from elsewhere.

We appreciate that seasons dictate what produce is available across your stores and don't want to tell people what to put on their shopping list. But by implementing this small change, you would give customers greater autonomy over their food choices and make eating seasonally even easier for those who wish to do so.

A 'Buy British' button on your online store would give customers greater power in their choices, while recognising British farmers and putting supermarkets as the critical link between the two.

Yours sincerely,

Dr Luke Evans MP	Rt Hon Therese Villiers MP	Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP
Alicia Kearns MP	Dame Caroline Dinenage MP	Sir Peter Bottomley MP
Rt Hon Philip Dunne MP	Saqib Bhatti MP	Jane Hunt MP
Lee Anderson MP	Dr Neil Hudson MP	Robbie Moore MP
Craig Tracey MP	Julian Sturdy MP	Sir James Duddridge MP

Dr Caroline Johnson MP Helen Morgan MP Sara Britcliffe MP Rt Hon John McDonnell MP Douglas Ross MP Sir Bill Wiggin MP Greg Smith MP Natalie Elphicke MP Angela Richardson MP Henry Smith MP Gagan Mohindra MP Jill Mortimer MP Sally-Ann Hart MP Sheryll Murray MP **Duncan Baker MP** Selaine Saxby MP Simon Hoare MP Ben Everitt MP Caroline Ansell MP David Morris MP Lia Nici MP Aaron Bell MP Dr Kieran Mullan MP Darren Henry MP Brendan Clarke-Smith MP Simon Fell MP Jack Brereton MP James Wild MP Philip Hollobone MP Anthony Higginbotham MP Martin Vickers MP Alexander Stafford MP Sir Mike Penning MP Paul Howell MP Heather Wheeler MP Craig Whittaker MP Anne Marie Morris MP James Grundy MP Craig Mackinlay MP Andy Carter MP **Royston Smith MP** Graham Stringer MP Andrew Selous MP Anna Firth MP Ian Liddell-Grainger MP Jo Gideon MP Jonathan Gullis MP Andrew Rosindell MP Cherilyn Mackrory MP Robert Courts MP Rt Hon David Mundell MP Mark Jenkinson MP Mark Garnier MP Paul Girvan MP Virginia Crosbie MP Simon Baynes MP Ian Paisely MP Peter Gibson MP Louie French MP Adam Holloway MP Holly Mumby-Croft MP Nick Fletcher MP Danny Kruger MP Flick Drummond MP Rt Hon Graham Stuart MP Elliot Colburn MP Sir Michael Fabricant MP Gordon Henderson MP Christine Jardine MP Caroline Ansell MP Scott Mann MP Tom Randall MP Pauline Latham MP Conor McGinn MP Daniel Kawczynski MP Ben Lake MP Rt Hon Alun Cairns MP Rt Hon Sammy Wilson MP Chris Clarkson MP Siobhan Baillie MP Stephen Crabb MP Damien Moore MP Matt Vickers MP Bob Seely MP Sarah Atherton MP Susanne Webb MP David Duguid MP Dr Dan Poulter MP Richard Drax MP Rt Hon Damian Green MP Richard Graham MP CMG Rt Hon Esther McVey MP Jason McCartney MP Richard Bacon MP Kelly Tolhurst MP Richard Foord MP Jane Stevenson MP Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown MP Laurence Robertson MP David Evennett MP Tobias Ellwood MP Bob Blackman MP Nicola Richards MP Katherine Fletcher MP Damien Collins MP